Skip to content ↓

Key Information


Governors have a strategic role in making decisions about how the school is run in consultation with the headteacher. They have legal duties, powers and responsibilities which include appointing staff and deciding how the school budget is spent.

The governing body is made up of parents, staff and representatives of the community. Governors are elected or appointed for four years and serve on one or more committees to carry out their various duties.

The governing body meet each term to discuss the School Improvement Plan, agree the budget and generally ensure that the school is run in an efficient manner. Working parties may meet in regard to particular projects and report back to the main governing body.

Governors make regular monitoring visits to the school to focus on a particular subject and participate in the school’s self-evaluation procedures. Governors report back their findings to the full governing body.

Current Governor Information

Ian Baird Smith – Co-opted Governor & Chair
contactable at the school address: Holy Trinity Infant School, Westgate, Southwell, NG25 0LD.

Name Role
Ian Baird Smith Co-opted Governor – Chair
Jemma Johnson-Cooper Staff Governor
Christine Cross Foundation Governor
Marie Thompson Headteacher
Katy Riordan Parent Governor

Alicia Price

Ann Swanston

Co-opted Governor

Parent Governor


Co-opted Governor x1

Ex-Officio x 1

To view more detailed information about our governors, please use the links below.